A blog by the Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration about justice and peace issues

Love letters from Kabul – a fairer life for all

Letters from an Afghan boy, an Afghan girl & a Singaporean doctor

Dear friends and fellow human beings,

1st November, 2012 ( Gregorian calendar )

11th Aqrab, 1391 ( Afghan calendar )

Like yourself, Abdulhai, Samia and I live in a world that is not well. There are growing inequalities and angry conflicts, and the air in Kabul is getting increasingly polluted.

Are the three of us well?

“I’m 16 years old. I want to be happy, but when I see how human beings ignore or treat one another, I feel alone,” says Abdulhai (pictured below), who carries an inner burden created by the loss of his father.

photo of Abdulhai, a 16 year old boy

Samia (pictured below),“I’m 13 years old and I want to learn to read and write. I also want to help my family have enough food at home…it isn’t easy to feel hungry.”

Photo of Samia

And I’m a 43 year old Singaporean physician whose name is Young and whose given Afghan nickname is Hakim. Afghan friends, like Abdulhai and Samia, have changed my life over the past 10 years, as I learn with them about meeting basic needs and improving livelihoods. I thought I was educated, until I peered beyond orphan boy Najib’s tearful eyes, and saw our modern world making children cry from hopelessness.

The three of us thought that we’ll write letters to you as friends and fellow human beings, with me as the translator-scribe, to tell you stories of our lives in 21st century Afghanistan.

We have no political or religious affiliation or aims, and we’re not looking for funds. We are ordinary people, warts and all.

We’re a little nervous about being vulnerable with you, so we’ll have to fall back on the shared hope that all human beings want to love and be loved, and long to be free.

Love letters from Kabul – a fairer life for all

Please join us.

http://ourjourneytosmile.com/blog/2012/11/love-letters-from-kabul-a-fairer-life-for-all/

http://www.2millionfriends.org/apps/blog

Love,

Abdulhai, Samia and Hakim

NB Before our first letter next week, please take time to see the late Rachel Corrie speak of the shared hope of a fairer life for all when she was 11 years old, in this video clip “I’m here because I care” . In 2003, Rachel was crushed by an Israel Defense Forces armored bulldozer in Rafah, West Bank, when she stood to block the demolition of Palestinian homes. We’re privileged to know Rachel’s parents, Cindy and Craig Corrie.

Abdulhai, Samia and I will try to pen our sentiments weekly or fortnightly under the following letter headings….

Our letter on basic needs

Our letter on a fairer education

Our letter on fairer livelihoods

Our letter on family

Our letter on friends

Our letter on a fairer community

Our letter on a fairer world

Our letter on safety

Our letter on fairer thoughts

Our letter on emotions

Our letter on deeper emotions

Our letter on fairer beliefs

Our letter on fairer money

Our letter on fairer power

Our letter on fairer hopes

Our letter on fairer dignities

Our letter on love

End

Comments on: "Guest post: Love Letters from Kabul" (14)

  1. Hi just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but
    I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

  2. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than
    just your articles? I mean, what you say is important and everything.

    Nevertheless imagine if you added some great photos or video clips to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but with images and clips, this website could certainly be
    one of the greatest in its niche. Superb blog!

  3. Every weekend i used to go to see this web site, because
    i want enjoyment, since this this website conations actually good funny stuff too.

  4. Hello Dear, are you really visiting this site daily, if so then you will without doubt get good know-how.

  5. This excellent website definitely has all the info I wanted
    about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  6. Wonderful post but I was wondering if you could
    write a litte more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a little bit more.
    Appreciate it!

  7. I visit daily a few blogs and blogs to read posts, but this weblog
    offers feature based articles.

  8. Hello to all, how is the wholee thing, I think every one is getting more from this web site, and your views are pleasant for new viewers.

  9. Usually I don’t learn article on blogs, however I would like to say
    that this write-up very pressured me to take a look at and do so!

    Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, very
    great article.

  10. What’s up to every , since I am in fact eager of reading this
    webpage’s post to bbe updated on a regular basis.
    It carries fastidious information.

  11. I enjoy reading a post tthat can make people think. Also, many thanks
    for permitting mme to comment!

  12. Hey there I am so delighted I found your weblog, I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Askjeeve for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a fantastic post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  13. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog
    posts on this kind of house . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled
    upon this website. Reading this info So i am glad to exhibit
    that I have an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I came
    upon just what I needed. I so much without a doubt will make certain to don?t omit this website and give it a look
    on a relentless basis.

  14. If you are going for finest contents like I do, just pay a quick visit this website
    all the time as it offers feature contents, thanks

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

