A blog by the Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration about justice and peace issues

 

Dear All – I wanted to offer a brief reflection on this momentous day in American history when we have awoke as a nation for the first time to an African American president. Our first African American president when twelve previous presidents were slave owners. We have turned a page in our cultural imagination, we have moved as a nation not divided along lines of color but united for a common purpose toward a future for the United States and the world that is not based in the ideology of fear but of hope.

It is a new day, a new opening, a new worldview that has been waiting for centuries to be realized from the depth of the ships that carried prisoners to be forced into a life of slavery to the millions who marched for civil rights to the unique struggle and life of Barack Obama. Together we greet this precious new day and as Maya Angelou says below we rise…

“You may write me down in history with your bitter, twisted lies, you may trod me in the very dirt but still, like dust, I’ll rise. Out of the huts of history’s shame I rise up from a past rooted in pain I rise. I’m a black ocean, leaping and wide, welling and swelling I bear in the tide. Leaving behind nights of terror and fear I rise into daybreak miraculously clear I rise. Bringing the hopes that my ancestors gave, I am the hope and the dream of the slave.’ And so, we all rise.

Peace Liz

Comments on: "You may write me down in history" (3)

  1. Linda Mershon said:

    What a beautiful reflection, Liz. Thanks. I hope we can move forward from this being about race too – although I can’t even imagine the depth of the tears Jessie Jackson and Oprah Winfrey and others shed at the acceptance speech. A kid on NPR recently said of the younger generation – we are ‘post-racism, we didn’t have to unlearn it.’ I hope that is true and I feel that it is a part of the hope and the future of this presidency. I remember when Obama was on Dave Letterman one night and Dave said something about him being a black man and Obama said he wanted to be referred to as a man, not a black man. He said he wouldn’t refer to Dave Letterman as a white man if Dave didn’t make reference to his race!

    Anyway – great reflection. It is truly a GREAT day – and it’s my 60th birthday. Best present I ever got!

  2. Sarah said:

    I keep tearing up. It’s awesome!

  3. Tuesday night I reminded my children to “pay attention and remember this day.” Because racism has not been a part of lives (thankfully), I think it will take years for them to look back and notice the miracle of history.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

