A blog by the Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration about justice and peace issues

“I have come to learn, God adores creation…” St. Francis of Assisi Love Poems from God by Daniel Ladinsky
 
Dear All – I wanted to share a small story that I found on St. Francis in the above mentioned book Love Poems from God  entitled “The Sacraments.”
     
     “I once spoke to my friend, an old squirrel, about the Sacraments – he got so excited and ran into a hollow in his tree and came back holding some acorns, an owl feather, and a ribbon he had found. And I just smiled and said, “Yes, dear you understand: everything imparts God’s grace.”
 
I came across this as I am getting ready to go and attend some meetings on human rights violations and human rights testimony with a group I work with in Colombia – Justicia y Paz. And it made me pause and think so often when I have been with survivors of the human rights violations from different situations and places the exchange has always been infused with such a deep sense of the sacred – revealing more fully the precious mystery of our own inter-connections to all beings and earth.
 
This story from St. Francis gave me a view that those exchanges have the same movement or opening within them that our own more formalized set of Sacraments contains. An opening toward embracing the unknown not with our reason or intellect but with our hearts, spirit, being, soul…embracing because the moment, the conversation, the owl feather, the Baptism raises in us such a sure sense of longing and love there is no choice but to open our own arms and gather it all in as close as possible, for everything imparts God’s grace.
 
That sense of grace always feel like the lightest set of foot prints in the snow, just barely a marker and yet also a bit of a map – a map toward the place of remembering the possibility of seeing and knowing God in all beings and in all stories – even the stories of violence, torture, death and suffering. St. Francis I think gave his life for this journey and I am grateful for his example as we as a community work toward the same.
 
I am may not be able to blog for the next two weeks while I am gone – but know when I come back I will give a full report. Thank you for all your support – Much Peace Liz
 
P.S. – I am sorry I forgot the list of sponsors with last week email – it is actually very long. If you wish to take action on that it may just be easiest to contact your Rep and let them know you are concerned about the situation in Colombia….sorry for the goof – peace again Liz

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

